top of page

SCAD DRAW 101 class

It's finally time to share some of what I've been doing at school! The most taxing class I was in this quarter was DRAW 101. It's the second DRAW class which I was able to go straight into because I took DRAW 100 during Rising Star last summer. We had six projects during the class. The first five were all 22 x 30".

For the first project, we were starting out simple with a perspective drawing. We each had to find a spot around the building to draw. Charcoal on white paper.

For the second project, each student brought in food and food related items which we had to hang by string from cardboard. Charcoal on white paper.

For the third, we were doing a self-portrait but we had to combine ourselves with a different person or character. I chose to turn myself into Liz Taylor as Cleopatra. White charcoal on black paper.

For the fourth project, we got to use color for the first time and each of us had to collect items for another still life. For this one, the objects had to go together in some way to tell a sort of story. I choose to use all natural items and ended up purchasing the piece of wood and the barnacle shell from a shell shop. Prismacolor pencils on black paper.

For our fifth, we were again using color to create another self-portrait. There were no restrictions on what we were to be doing in the portrait or what colors we could use. While the previous drawing was all about being exact and getting the colors as close to life as possible, we had freedom in this piece to do what we wanted. Prismacolor NuPastel sticks on black paper.

Our sixth and final drawing was another self portrait. However, we had TOTAL FREEDOM with how we did it! There were specific requirements to include, such as being waist up, including both hands, and a symbol from our life. Other than that, we could do the portrait in whatever style and medium we wanted! My peers all came up with really unique portraits, this was the drawing that let you really see who each person was as an artist.

You might recognize a bit of the symbolism in my piece from others that I've posted here. I've done several self portraits with cords coming out my face. When I originally designed those, I had intended for the chords to be plant vines. But it was for a school project and I ran out of time and leaving them as cords was decent enough. So for this project, I wanted to revisit this idea and actual make them into plants like I originally intended. Acrylic and guache on illustration board.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page