top of page

Fall and Winter Quarter Update

SCAD classes continue to be online. It's felt like I've had a lot more work to do since going online and I'm very ready to get back to in person classes, but I will be patient. I've been having a lot of fun with most of my recent assignments, especially for the world building class I'm in right now. I can't wait to share what I've been working on!

Fall quarter I took an 'illustrating the macabre and divine' class, a storyboarding and character design class, and an animated illustration class. I was really worried about doing the animated class online, but it actually went very well and I got pretty dang good at animating on my iPad! This self portrait was my first assignment. —>

Illustrating the Macabre and Divine was an interesting class. We talked about the differences between how we depict good and evil things (i.e. 'good' gods and 'bad' gods, angels and monsters, ghosts, etc.) Our first assignment in that class was to choose a 'good god' and a 'bad god' or a monster. I went with Greek mythology and illustrated portraits of Demeter, goddess of the harvest, and a siren (which were originally half birds, not mermaids as we usually think of them today).

In my character design and storyboarding class we focused on character design for the first half of the quarter and then on storyboarding the second half, then finally using both for our final. One of the assignments that I really enjoyed was to design 4 cartoon characters based on characters in a live action TV show. I chose Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp. I love the characters I made so much, I'm planning on doing more of the main cast as well.

Our first assignment in that class was to design ourselves. The final was uncolored with plain black line just like the one above but I colored it for fun over winter break.



This winter quarter I'm in an advanced storyboarding class, world building class, and 'illustration business strategies and entrepreneurship.'

I'm reworking my logo in the business strategies class so I'll be sharing that soon.


I just finished a fun assignment in storyboarding yesterday. The professor assigned each student a product and we had to create a commercial pitch for the product. Here's mine!



And lastly here's a sneak peak at some characters for my world building class!



Related Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page